When:
August 1, 2019 @ 7:30 pm – August 18, 2019 @ 9:30 pm
2019-08-01T19:30:00+10:00
2019-08-18T21:30:00+10:00
Where:
fortyfivedownstairs
45 Flinders Ln
Melbourne VIC 3000
Australia
Cost:
$45 - $55
The Ghetto Cabaret @ fortyfivedownstairs | Melbourne | Victoria | Australia

Galit Klas’ provocative and moving sell-out show is back with a new script and cast. Full of Yiddish songs unheard for decades, The Ghetto Cabaret tells the daring story of Jewish musicians, singers, dancers, acrobats, opera and theatre performers thrown together and trapped in the Ghettos of WWII. Surrounded by danger, disease and betrayal, any night could be their last performance. But their fear is transformed into art as they try to create meaning out of the terror and chaos around them. Written by Galit Klas and directed by Gary Abrahams, The Ghetto Cabaret reveals the black humour, courage and wit of a people struggling to survive.

Image courtesy of Mauro Palmieri

דער געטאָ קאַבאַרע

פֿאָרגעשטעלט פֿון Fortyfivedownstairsמיט דעם קדימה ייִדיש טעאַטער
1טן ביזן 18טן אויסגוסט, 2019
אינעם  Fortyfivedownstairsטעאַטער
45 פֿלינדערס לײַן, מעלבורן
בילעטן: www.fortyfivedownstairs.com/wp2016/event/the-ghetto-cabaret/

גליתּ קלאַסעס פּראָוואָצירנדיקער און רירנדיקער שלאַגער וועט ווידער פֿאָרגעשטעלט ווערן מיט אַ נײַעם סקריפּט און אַ נײַע טרופּע. מיט פֿיל ייִדישע לידער שוין נישט געהערט איבער צענדליקער יאָרן.  דער געטאָ קאַבאַרע דערצײַלט די מוטיקע געשיכטע פֿון ייִדישע מוזיקערס, זינגערס, טענצערס, אַקראָבאַטן, אָפּערע און טעאַטער שוישפּילערס צונויפֿגעבראַכט און פֿאַרשפּאַרט אין די געטאָס בעת דער צווייטער וועלט מלחמה. יעדער נאַכט קען זײַן זייער לעצטע פֿאָרשטעלונג, אָבער זייער שרעק ווערט פֿאַרוואַנדלט אין קונסט, ווען זיי פּראָבירן צו שאַפֿן אַ באַדײַט פֿונעם אַרומיקן גרויל.  פֿאַרפֿאַסט פֿון גליתּ קלאַס און רעזשיסירט פֿון גערי אַבראַהאַמס.

Show Times

Thursday 1st August 2019 7:30pm
Friday 2nd August 2019 7:30pm
Saturday 3rd August 2019 7:30pm SOLD OUT
Sunday 4th August 2019 5:00pm
Tuesday 6th August 2019 7:30pm
Wednesday 7th August 2019 7:30pm
Thursday 8th August 2019 7:30pm
Friday 9th August 2019 7:30pm
Saturday 10th August 2019 7:30pm
Sunday 11th August 2019 5:00pm
Tuesday 13th August 2019 7:30pm
Wednesday 14th August 2019 7:30pm
Thursday 15th August 2019 7:30pm
Friday 16th August 2019 7:30pm
Saturday 17th August 2019 7:30pm
Sunday 18th August 2019 5:00pm